Contact

Niki peut être contacté via son agent Zoë Waldie chez Rogers, Coleridge et blanc:

20 Powis Mews
London W11 1JN

info@rcwlitagency.com

Ou par ses éditeurs:

Royaume-Uni

Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
36 Soho Square
Londres W1D 3QY

publicity@bloomsbury.com

Etats-Unis

Bloomsbury Publishing
175 Cinquième Avenue
New York, NY 10010

publicity.adult @ bloomsburyusa.com

31 Les réponses à Contact

  1. Justin Dix dit:

    Salut

    Je viens d'acheter le livre – merveilleux concept, Je suis sûr que vous serez en s'appuyant sur elle dans les années à venir. La plupart de cuisson pour l'industrie des loisirs est basée sur des recettes plutôt que de compétences et l'apprentissage, donc dans le monde réel de cette approche est grand pour ceux d'entre nous qui veulent éviter le gaspillage des aliments et de commencer notre cuisine avec ce que nous avons dans le réfrigérateur et le placard magasin. Ce serait génial de voir plus sur ce qui fonctionne bien avec des impulsions – le pois chiche humble pourrait faire avec une mention, parlant en tant que mangeur de viande non. Mais vous remercier d'avoir quelque chose d'aussi sérieux et passionnant à la bibliothèque.

  2. Tessa Finn dit:

    Je viens de donner le livre pour Noël et je suis vraiment en profiter. C'est une belle idée.

    Une combinaison je pense que vous avez manqué l'un que j'ai trouvé par hasard; la carotte et basilic. En fait, c'était une purée de carotte (travaille également avec plus de panais) avec un peu de crème aigre de citron et à laquelle j'ai ajouté de persil frais haché – la combinaison que je pensais être une grande, avec le basilic accentuant la douceur de la carotte et animer également.

    Egalement dans l'équité, de feuille de coriandre, Je pense que vous devez mentionner que certaines personnes ne peux vraiment pas tolérer le goût avec une intensité différente de aversions autres. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/14/dining/14curious.html Pour moi aussi au début, il avait un goût de savon, mais maintenant j'aime les trucs

  3. Harry Dodgson dit:

    Grand livre. Il récupère les jus créateurs coulant. Pourquoi pas de liste pour les courgettes, haricots verts, épinards, ou verts.

  4. Pour dit:

    Salut,
    Je viens de commander, ce que je crois l'édition américaine de votre livre.
    Comment est-ce différent de l'édition au Royaume-Uni?

    • Cher par
      Les différences sont assez faibles – principalement une question de l'orthographe, vocabulaire (aubergine aubergine =, etc), mesures et les références culturelles. Plus les bords de la page ne sont pas de couleur prune.
      Hope qui aide
      Meilleurs vœux
      Niki

  5. Superbe concept de!
    Parfait pour les cuisiniers qui peut faire face sans livres de recettes, mais je n'ai pas eu le temps de tester toutes les combinaisons d'ingrédients sur la terre – hâte de le mettre à l'épreuve avec aléatoires objets oubliés dans le réfrigérateur.

  6. Chers Niki

    J'ai vraiment apprécié votre discours & dégustation à Waterstones Richmond, et de vous rencontrer par la suite. Entaille, gestionnaire de Waterstones Richmond, qui est un bon ami à moi et un habitué à ma table, m'a donné une copie de votre merveilleux livre quand il a d'abord été publié au Royaume-Uni, et depuis lors j'ai apprécié plongeant dans l'. Il vit près de mon lit, plutôt que parmi mes livres de cuisine dans la cuisine. Votre écriture est si attachant, divertissement, et intelligent, véhiculant une émotion réelle et le plaisir de la nourriture, ainsi que offrant de l'information. Je pense que mon préféré est la description de la coquille Saint-Jacques et boudin noir. Comme je l'ai dit lorsque nous avons rencontré, l'analogie du musicien combiner les sons avec le cuisinier alliant saveurs touché une corde sensible réel avec moi (pardonnez le jeu de mots): Je suis un pianiste et d'un cuisinier.
    Meilleurs vœux,
    Fran (Twitter @ crosseyedpiano)

    • Merci Fran, c'est très gentil de votre part. Et merci aussi pour venir à la conférence. J'espère que vos gâteaux de noix de coco bien tourné. J'ai été demandé pour cette recette, si l'afficherons sur le site. Il est dangereusement facile.
      Niki

  7. Laurentino Nieto dit:

    Comment utiliser le sésame?
    Achetez votre livre et deboré… grand et super pratique.. seuls quelques détails sur l'organisation quelque chose que je sugeririra comme le texte hyper… I love it…
    Vous feriez également possible que ces articles se concentrera vous avez arrêté d'un commun accord lasdo (counes assaisonnements, hydrates de carbone, etc… ) .
    D'autre part vous, composés chimiques parfois nommés à condition, bueo être une explication plus profonde dans ce domaine… ( et il ne peut pas être votre domaine spécifique)…
    Merci d'avoir ce produit avec succès…
    Laurentino…

  8. Chers Niki,

    vous remercier d'avoir écrit le livre – c'est tellement amusant à lire, et une merveilleuse ressource. Depuis que je l'ai ramassé l'an dernier, J'ai dit à tous ceux qui ont ou n'ont pas envie d'entendre que, fondamentalement,, les deux seuls livres de cuisine on a besoin toujours de votre Thesaurus sont Saveur et Harold McGee “Le alimentaire et culinaire” pour les techniques. Bien sûr, j'exagère – J'espère qu'il y aura plus de livres comme celui-ci, à s'aventurer dans, dire, Saveurs asiatiques, mais c'est une approche très originale. Et comme un autre intervenant déjà mentionné ci-dessus, nombreux livres de recettes effectivement réduire les compétences et les connaissances en donnant jamais droites recettes et des instructions, alors que votre livre inspire à comprendre alimentaire et à devenir plus créatif. Bravo.
    Anke

  9. Duncan dit:

    Salut Niki

    Acheté le livre récemment, et je pense que c'est génial – très intéressant et plein d'inspiration cuisine. Je veux juste vous faire connaître un événement que j'ai organisé à Norwich le 23 Septembre appelée Food, Saveur et notre cinquième sens (http://fifthsense.org.uk/events). C'est un événement pour sensibiliser la nourriture d'une maladie appelée anosmie – la perte du sens de l'odorat. Je suis la mise en place d'une organisation appelée Sense cinquième de fournir un soutien et des conseils aux personnes atteintes et à sensibiliser non seulement de la maladie elle-même, mais aussi le rôle important que le sens de l'odorat joue dans nos vies.

    L'événement lui-même informer sur le rôle que le sens de l'odorat joue dans la perception des saveurs, et aussi comment nos autres sens contribuent à l'expérience que nous appelons manger. Si vous (ou l'un de vos lecteurs) souhaitez plus d'info, puis s'il vous plaît visitez le lien ci-dessus ou m'envoyer un courriel: Duncan@FifthSense.org.uk
    Meilleurs vœux,
    Duncan

  10. Lainy dit:

    J'adore ce livre! Il a pris des décisions cadeaux tellement plus facile pour un certain temps! J'espérais pour clarifier quelques petites choses. Je suis allergique à eugonol, iseugonol et j'ai trouvé quelques articles qui se réfèrent à des propriétés eugonol dans le poisson fumé. ‘ communiquée à la nourriture par le processus de fumage ». Est-ce que cela signifie le poisson libère le eugonol composé lorsqu'il est fumé ou qui eugonol est ajoutée via l'extrait de clou de girofle pour le fumage. Basilic sacré?.. Est-ce que contiennent eugonol ou faut-il simplement le goût de l'. Vous dites aussi qu'il se produit naturellement dans les tomates et les bananes mûrissent. On m'a dit d'éviter tous les aliments eugonol mais je ne peux pas cerner exactement ce que les aliments que je dois éviter. La plupart des aliments que vous citez ne sont pas sur d'autres listes eugonol. J'ai entendu tellement de choses contradictoires. Peut-il être regroupés pensez-vous à une liste décisive ? Pouvez-vous recccomend des livres qui peuvent m'aider à la recherche de ce? Info internet est très limité. Toute orientation beaucoup appeciated….et .. Encore merci pour le livre fabuleux sur mon étagère de la cuisine.

  11. Lorena dit:

    Bonjour. Votre livre est disponible à Buenos Aires? Si c'est le cas, où puis-je l'acheter?? J'ai vraiment envie de l'acheter.

    • Cher Lorraine
      Merci pour votre intérêt dans le livre, mais je crains que je ne saurais pas où le chercher à Buenos Aires. Voulez-vous dire de l'édition en langue espagnole? Si c'est le cas, je vous suggère de prendre contact avec les bureaux argentins de Random House Mondadori – détails ici.
      Meilleurs vœux
      Niki

  12. Chers Niki,

    J'aimerais entrer en contact avec vous et vous invitons à faire un de mes conférenciers invités à un événement de charité privés dames qui impressionnent. Je vous ai laissé mon site web et adresse e-mail les détails – Je voudrais vraiment apprécier l'opportunité d'entrer en contact et de vous en dire plus sur mon événement.

    Meilleurs vœux,

    Jean

  13. Chers Niki,

    J'ai mon premier livre de recettes à venir en mai (Cuisson Votre Produits du terroir), qui a été littéralement sauvé par la réception de votre Thesaurus Flavour comme cadeau de Noël (qui a continué pour devenir un cadeau pour aller à tous les amoureux de la nourriture que je connais et répondre). Je me demandais si vous seriez prêt à prendre un coup d'oeil (un extrait de) le livre pour voir si vous seriez intéressé à être un critique?

    Merci beaucoup,
    Greta

  14. Adam dit:

    Bonjour,
    Viens de recevoir un exemplaire de votre livre que j'avais réservée à Waterstones.
    Wow simple lecture des premières pages m'a donné plein d'idées pour les gâteaux et autres plats que je n'aurais pas osé avant.
    Merci beaucoup. Ce n'est tout simplement pas un livre c'est une bible et oui je sais qui je vais acheter des copies pour.

  15. Samuel Kimble dit:

    Salut Niki,

    Comme un jeune cuisinier passionné et lecteur de longue date de votre fantastique et plein d'esprit thésaurus de saveur, Je me sentais un long retard contrainte de dire merci pour avoir écrit un de mes livres préférés alimentaires. J'adore plonger dedans et en profitant de toutes les combinaisons délicieuses. Un antidote parfait à la preuve d'idiot “recette seulement” livres. Je crois fermement cuisson doit être très pratique multisensorielle, par le nez, cerveau, et de la langue pour créer des repas- pas un jeu stupide prescriptive des instructions. Alors, merci encore une fois pour ma lecture du indispensable favorisée. Comme note finale, avez-vous des plans pour les éditions mises à jour ou peut-être un deuxième livre?

    Samuel
    X

    • Salut Samuel
      Merci d'avoir pris le temps de m'écrire. Je travaille actuellement sur un autre ouvrage de référence alimentaire – quelque chose que je n'ai jamais vu avant et, J'espère, quelque chose qui sera utile et amusant. Un Thesaurus Flavour élargie devra attendre, mais il est tout à fait possible. J'ai fait commencer une liste d'arômes candidats un retour de tout. Une chose qui me rebute, c'est que je dois écrire au sujet de courgettes. Chaque fois que je m'asseyais pour écrire ce chapitre, Je me sentais énormément ennuyé. Cuisiner et de les manger est très bien. Écrit à leur sujet est mort!
      Meilleurs vœux.
      Niki

  16. Sarah et Strasbourg dit:

    Salut Niki–I was wondering if you’ve ever come across the cookbookFrom a Breton Garden: The Vegetable Cookery of Josephine Araldoby Mme Araldo and Robert Reynolds. It has a very distinctive view of flavor pairings and some rather startling recipes (beets with blackcurrants, carrots with persimmons, rutabagas with quinces) that I thought you’d find intriguing.

    I’m reading through “Le Thesaurus Flavour” for a second timejust as good as the first.

    Sarah

    • Chère Sarah
      This is really interesting and I will see if the British Library can dig out a copy for me. When I started writing The Flavour Thesaurus, I expected to come across heaps of this sort of material, but in fact it turned out to be incredibly rare. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to me.
      Niki

  17. Sergey dit:

    Salut Niki! Can you tell me when your book be translated to russian ?

    • Dear Sergey
      Merci pour votre intérêt. The rights are sold in Russia, but the publisher in question has since closed its food division. So there are no plans for it to appear in Russian for now, unfortunately.
      Avec mes meilleurs vœux
      Niki

  18. Steve Raffner dit:

    Hello Niki

    Votre idee et excellente et vous méritez votre succès, ce livre sort du lot. J’aimerai vous proposer un nouveau challenge qui lie vos talents, vos compétences et vos connaissances à un domaine qui est ma passion et mon métier et qui doit également avoir une résonnance : l’innovation. Dois je contacter votre agent ? Cdt. steve

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse email ne sera pas publié. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués *

Vous pouvez utiliser ces HTML balises et les attributs: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Contact

Niki can be contacted via her agent Zoë Waldie at Rogers, Coleridge and White:

20 Powis Mews
London W11 1JN

info@rcwlitagency.com

Or via her publishers:

UK

Bloomsbury Publishing plc
36 Soho Square
London W1D 3QY

publicity@bloomsbury.com

USA

Bloomsbury Publishing
175 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10010

publicity.adult@bloomsburyusa.com

33 Responses to Contact

  1. Justin Dix says:

    Hi

    Just bought the book – wonderful concept, I’m sure you will be building on it in years to come. Most of the cooking for leisure industry is based on recipes rather than a skills and learning, so in the real world this approach is great for those of us who want to avoid food waste and start our cooking with what we have in the fridge and the store cupboard. Would be great to see more about what works well with pulses – the humble chickpea could do with a mention, speaking as a non meat eater. But thank you for bringing something so thoughtful and exciting to the bookshelves.

  2. Tessa Finn says:

    I was just given the book for Christmas and am really enjoying it. It’s a lovely idea.

    One combination I feel you missed is one that I found fortuitously; carrot and basil. Actually it was a carrot puree (works also with parsnip addition) with a little lemon and sour cream to which I added chopped fresh parsley – the combination I thought was great, with the basil accentuating the carrot’s sweetness and enlivening also.

    Also in fairness, with coriander leaf, I think you should mention that some people really can’t tolerate the taste with an intensity different from other aversions. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/14/dining/14curious.html For me also at first it tasted of soap but now I love the stuff

  3. Harry Dodgson says:

    Great book. It gets the creative juices flowing. Why no listing for zucchini, green beans, spinach, or greens.

  4. Per says:

    Hi,
    I ´ve just ordered, what I believe the US edition of your book.
    How is that different from the UK edition?

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Dear Per
      The differences are fairly small – mainly a matter of spelling, vocabulary (aubergine = eggplant etc.), measurements and cultural references. Plus the page edges aren’t plum-coloured.
      Hope that helps
      Best wishes
      Niki

  5. david thomas says:

    Superb concept!
    Perfect for cooks who can cope without recipe books, but haven’t got the time to test every ingredient combination on earth – looking forward to putting it to the test with random forgotten items in the fridge.

  6. Dear Niki

    I really enjoyed your talk & tasting at Waterstones Richmond, and to meeting you afterwards. Nick, manager of Waterstones Richmond who is a good friend of mine and a regular at my dinner table, gave me a copy of your wonderful book when it was first published in the UK, and since then I have enjoyed dipping into it. It lives by my bed, rather than amongst my cookery books in the kitchen. Your writing is so engaging, entertaining, and intelligent, conveying a real excitement and pleasure about food, as well as offering information. I think my favourite description is of the scallop and black pudding. As I said when we met, the analogy of the musician combining sounds with the cook combining flavours struck a real chord with me (forgive the pun): I am a pianist and a cook.
    Best wishes,
    Fran (Twitter @crosseyedpiano)

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Thank you Fran, that’s very kind of you. And thank you also for coming to the talk. I hope your coconut cakes turned out well. I’ve been asked for that recipe, so will post it on the website. It’s dangerously easy.
      Niki

  7. Laurentino Nieto says:

    ¿Como usar el Sésamo?
    Compre su libro y lo deboré… estupendo y super práctico.. solo algunos detalles en las organización yo sugeririra algo asi con el hiper texto… la adoro…
    Serías posible que ademas se abocara a esos items que dejó de lasdo por comunes (los condimentos counes, los hidratos de carbono, etc… ) .
    Por otro lado Ud., a veces nombra los compuestos químicos aportados, estaría bueo una explicación mas profunda en ese campo… ( ya se puede que no sea su campo específico)…
    Mil gracias por haber hecho este logrado producto…
    Laurentino…

  8. Dear Niki,

    thank you for writing the book – it’s so much fun to read, and a wonderful resource. Since I picked it up last year, I have been telling anyone who did or did not want to hear that basically, the only two cookbooks one ever needs are your Flavour Thesaurus and Harold McGee’s “On Food and Cooking” for the techniques. Of course I am exaggerating – I do hope there will be more books like this one, to venture into, say, Asian flavours, but it is a very original approach. And like another commenter above already mentioned, many cookbooks actually reduce skills and knowledge by giving ever straighter recipes and instructions, whereas your book inspires to understand food and become more creative. Well done.
    Anke

  9. Duncan says:

    Hi Niki

    Bought the book recently, and I think it’s great – very interesting and lots of kitchen inspiration. I just want to let you know about an event I’ve organised in Norwich on 23rd September called Food, Flavour and our Fifth Sense (http://fifthsense.org.uk/events). This is a food event to raise awareness of a condition called anosmia – the loss of the sense of smell. I’m setting up an organisation called Fifth Sense to provide support and advice to sufferers and raise awareness of not only the condition itself but also the huge role that the sense of smell plays in our lives.

    The event itself will educate on the role that the sense of smell plays in flavour perception, and also how our other senses contribute to the experience we call eating. If you (or any of your readers) would like more info then please visit the link above or email me: Duncan@FifthSense.org.uk
    Best wishes,
    Duncan

  10. Lainy says:

    Love this book! It has made gift decisions so much easier for a while too! I was hoping to clarify a few things. I am allergic to eugonol, iseugonol and found a few sections which referred to eugonol properties in smoked fish. ‘ imparted to food by the smoking process’. Does this mean the fish releases the compound eugonol when smoked or that eugonol is being added via clove extract to the smoking process. Holy basil?.. Does this contain eugonol or does it just taste like it. You also say it occurs naturally in tomatoes and ripening bananas. I have been told to avoid all eugonol foods but I can’t pin down exactly what food I need to avoid. Many of the foods you mention are not on other eugonol lists. I hear so many contradictory things. Can it be grouped do you think to a decisive list ? Can you recccomend any books which may help me research this? Internet info is very limited. Any guidance very much appeciated….and..Again thank you for the fabulous book on my kitchen shelf.

  11. Lorena says:

    Hello. Is your book available in Buenos Aires? If so, where can I purchase it?? I really want to buy it.

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Dear Lorena
      Thanks for your interest in the book, although I’m afraid I wouldn’t know where to look for it in Buenos Aires. Do you mean the Spanish-language edition? If so I suggest you get in touch with the Argentinian offices of Random House Mondadori – details here.
      Best wishes
      Niki

  12. Dear Niki,

    I’d like to get in touch with you and invite you to be one of my guest speakers at a private charity event Ladies Who Impress. I left you my website and email address details – I would really appreciate an opportunity to get in touch and tell you more about my event.

    Best wishes,

    Jana

  13. Greta Hardin says:

    Dear Niki,

    I have my first cookbook coming out in May (Cooking Your Local Produce), which was literally saved by receiving your Flavour Thesaurus as a Christmas gift (which has gone on to become a go to gift for every food lover I know and meet). I was wondering if you’d be willing to take a look at (an excerpt of) the book to see if you would be interested in being a reviewer?

    Many Thanks,
    Greta

  14. Adam says:

    Hello,
    Just got a copy of your book that I had reserved at Waterstones.
    Wow just reading the first pages has given me loads of ideas for cakes and other meals that I wouldn’t have dared before.
    Thank you so much. This just isnt a book its a bible and yes I know who I will be buying copies for.

  15. Samuel Kimble says:

    Hi Niki,

    As a young passionate cook and long time reader of your fantastic and witty flavour thesaurus, I felt a long overdue compulsion to say thanks for writing one of my favourite food books. I love dipping into it and soaking up all the delicious combinations. A perfect antidote to the idiot proof “recipe only” books. I firmly believe cooking should very much be a multisensory practice, using your nose, brain, and tongue to create meals- not some stupidly prescriptive set of instructions. So thank you once again for my favoured indispensable read. As a final note, do you have plans for updated editions or perhaps a second book?

    Samuel
    X

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Hi Samuel
      Thank you for taking the time to write to me. I’m currently working on another food reference book – something I’ve never seen before and, I hope, something that will be useful and fun. An expanded Flavour Thesaurus will have to wait, but is quite possible. I did start a list of candidate flavours a while back. One thing that puts me off is that I’d have to write about courgettes. Every time I sat down to write that chapter, I felt enormously bored. Cooking and eating them is fine. Writing about them is deathly!
      Best wishes.
      Niki

  16. Sarah in Strasbourg says:

    Hi Niki–I was wondering if you’ve ever come across the cookbook “From a Breton Garden: The Vegetable Cookery of Josephine Araldo” by Mme Araldo and Robert Reynolds. It has a very distinctive view of flavor pairings and some rather startling recipes (beets with blackcurrants, carrots with persimmons, rutabagas with quinces) that I thought you’d find intriguing.

    I’m reading through “The Flavour Thesaurus” for a second time–just as good as the first.

    Sarah

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Dear Sarah
      This is really interesting and I will see if the British Library can dig out a copy for me. When I started writing The Flavour Thesaurus, I expected to come across heaps of this sort of material, but in fact it turned out to be incredibly rare. Thank you very much for taking the time to write to me.
      Niki

  17. Sergey says:

    Hi Niki! Can you tell me when your book be translated to russian ?

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Dear Sergey
      Thanks for your interest. The rights are sold in Russia, but the publisher in question has since closed its food division. So there are no plans for it to appear in Russian for now, unfortunately.
      With best wishes
      Niki

  18. Steve Raffner says:

    Hello Niki

    Votre idee et excellente et vous méritez votre succès, ce livre sort du lot. J’aimerai vous proposer un nouveau challenge qui lie vos talents, vos compétences et vos connaissances à un domaine qui est ma passion et mon métier et qui doit également avoir une résonnance : l’innovation. Dois je contacter votre agent ? Cdt. steve

  19. Marianne says:

    Love the idea, the book. After recently tenderly roasting each of the spices & herbs , individually for a nepalese curry i discovered a wonderful combo – cinnamon bark & fresh bay leaves – each separately roast then ground together. The sweety spicy woodiness of the cinammon and the green limey – mint- eucalypt of the bay leaves … Sensational.
    I am curious as to why common herb, bay leavesnot appear in the book ( other than passing references as possible ingredient in recipes)? Cheers

    • Niki Segnit says:

      Dear Marianne
      Thanks for your kind words, and for letting me know about the cinnamon and bay. I’ve made a note to try them together – in some sort of custard, I think. Have you heard of tejpat? Cinnamomum tamala, also called Indian bay leaf. You can find it in Asian grocery stores. It tastes like hot-cross buns. Bay didn’t make it into the final cut of the book for the same reason as lentils, duck and courgettes didn’t – I had to draw the line somewhere.
      All best
      Niki

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>